ADDRESS: 271 -275 Saunders/289 Westmorland, Fredericton, N.B., E3B 1N5 LOCATION: Downtown on the corner of Saunders St. and Westmorland St. in downtown west Fredericton, this heritage property is very visible due to its large expanse of lawn on both streets. Only five short blocks from the Saint John River and its network of walking and biking trails. Supermarkets, shopping, churches and restaurants plus business and government services are nearby, as well as bus service . There is onsite parking and outdoor yard space. BUILDING TYPE: Heritage Conversion with commercial ground floor unit & three upstairs residential units. LOCATION HISTORY: The site of the Moore House originally included all lots from 249 Saunders St. to the corner of Westmorland St. It appears from the city map of 1882 that this land was the site of the Fredericton Exhibition Palace, built in 1863 and modelled on the famous Crystal Palace of London. This amazing structure was designed by architect M. Stead, with a dome at its centre 80 feet high and a lion & unicorn over the main entrance. It was destroyed by arsonists in 1877. NAME ORIGIN: In 1882 the Moore Family of Three Tree Creek, near Fredericton Junction, inherited a portion of the James Carlisle estate of Belfast , Ireland . This inheritance included shares in the Brookfield Linen Mills: hence the name. FEATURES: As a heritage home, the five apartments have many unique and historic features not found in modern construction. The Moore House was built by Sherman Nason, of Nasonworth and no expense was spared. It had a formal salon and double parlors on the first floor, a library on the second floor, large pocket sliding doors, and shutters on most windows that disappear into the lift up window sills .
For further information regarding the features of this historic property please go to the link “History of our Office” under the Company header located on our web-site.