ADDRESS: 257 Westmorland St., Fredericton N.B., E3B 3M1 LOCATION: Downtown on the corner of Charlotte and Westmorland, kitty corner to Christ Church (Parish) Church. Four short blocks from the Saint John River and its network of walking and biking trails, on the west end of the town plat. Supermarkets, shopping, churches and restaurants, plus business and government services are nearby within walking distance, as well as municipal bus service. BUILDING TYPE: Heritage Conversion to four units. FEATURES: Four large four bedroom units, each on two levels comprise this Victorian gem. A renovation in 1988 modernized the kitchens with oak cabinets, islands and dishwashers. All units also have large modern bathrooms with laundry hookups. A common front veranda and a side veranda or deck provide outside living for all units. Two units have decommissioned fireplaces and all units have heavy molded woodwork and hardwood floors. Unique architectural features such as bay windows, fieldstone wall, and a keyhole window are original. All units have upgraded wiring and electric baseboard heat which is paid for by the tenant. Exterior parking is limited on site, but access to the adjacent parking lot at 280 Charlotte is provided. NAME ORIGIN: Because of its proximity to the magnificent Fredericton Exhibition Palace this property may have been the Gatehouse access point to the grounds which included a horse racing track and stables. In 1819 Charlotte St. was the back end of the original town plat laid down by the Loyalist settlers in 1785 and was still rural mid-century. HISTORY: Originally built as a duplex prior to 1882, probably by Sherman Nason who is documented as the builder of the nearby house at 289 Westmorland Street. Similarities in the exterior trim suggest this carpenter was involved in both constructions.