ADDRESS: 784 George St., Fredericton, N.B., E3B 1K5 LOCATION: Downtown on the east end of the Town Plat & four short blocks from the Saint John River and its network of walking and biking trails. Supermarkets, shopping, churches and restaurants, plus business and government services are nearby within walking distance, as well as municipal bus service. BUILDING TYPE: Heritage Conversion, 5 units. FEATURES: Located in the historic East Town Plat area of Fredericton, Whitehead Hall is a fine old home that was remodeled into four interesting flats, each with its own distinct charm. All units have some hardwood floors, large bright windows, high ceilings and heavy woodwork. The house was designed with two unique upstairs bay windows, as well as several verandas and a tiny balcony. At the rear of the property is a detached Coach House that is now a separate three bedroom, two level unit with laundry hook ups. Some units are heated. NAME ORIGIN: The house was built in the Swiss Gothic style for the Whitehead family prior to 1882. HISTORY: Earliest records indicate this property was owned by Alfred Whitehead in 1878 who lived there with his three daughters: Eleanor Jane, Alfretta and Lizzie D. In 1882 the sisters conveyed the property to a relative and local businessman, W. Turney Whitehead and eventually the property ended up in the hands of the University of New Brunswick. The university used the building as a ladies residence from 1960 to 1963, calling it “The New House”, complementing the Maggie jean Chestnut House and Murray House., both in the neighbourhead. When a new ladies residence, Lady Dunn Hall, was built on campus , local developers, Joe Gorham and John Bird purchased the property and converted it into four apartments. The Coach House at the rear of the property was used as a paint shop by Fredericton Housing Ltd. until it was converted into a single family rental home in the 1970’s.