ADDRESS: 900 Barker St, Fredericton, N.B., E3A 3K6 LOCATION: Northside of Fredericton and walking distance to Bill Thorpe Walking Bridge giving access to Downtown Fredericton’s cultural, government, business and shopping facilities. Access to municipal bus service nearby. Fredericton’s Trail system, Carleton Park and boat launch are nearby. BUILDING TYPE: Heritage Conversion – 6 units. FEATURES: These cozy apartments, each with their own separate outside access, fill a unique niche in the rental market. With all utilities included in the rent, these one bedroom units are excellent accommodation for one or two people. The neighborhood of Redearl Cottage has many recreation facilities nearby: there are soccer fields and access to the Fredericton’s trail system that continues across the bridge to downtown Fredericton. Redearl Cottage is across the street from Fredericton’s original skating rink, York Arena. Exterior parking is available and municipal bus service is two blocks away on Gibson St. NAME ORIGIN: Named for Red Leachman and Earl Scott who lived & worked in the area. HISTORY: This small cottage style home was built as a single family home. During the 1960’s local plumbing contractors Red Leachman and Earl Scott saw a demand for small self-contained rental units which could be rented at a reasonable rate. The two wings were added over a new foundation and each unit was built with a separate outside entrance. Until the 1950’s Barker Street was the main route to Barker’s Point, a small community on the east side of the Nashwaak River. A bridge over Ram Island connected North Devon to Barker’s Point. This bridge was replaced with the current bridge at the mouth of river.
Lieutenant Thomas Barker and family were United Empire Loyalists, who were refugees from Duchess County N.Y. where his father had been a magistrate. They received a land grant on the Nashwaak River near Penniac, but settled in Barker’s Point in 1787.