ADDRESS: 464 George St., Fredericton, N.B. LOCATION: -Downtown and only five short blocks from the Saint John River and its network of walking and biking trails. Grocery stores, shopping, and restaurants plus business and government services are nearby, as well as bus service. There is onsite parking. BUILDING TYPE : Heritage Conversion. FEATURES: This nine unit house is typical of Fredericton’s 2.5 story heritage homes. It has a side main entrance in a three story bay with access off of a side porch. This entrance accesses two street side bachelor apartments with wide double doors, hardwood floors, antique wide trim and fireplace mantels. The third floor loft suite has two small bedrooms/dens tucked in under the eaves. At the rear of the building are six unique bachelor/1 bedroom units, each with a private exterior entrance. A coin op. laundry facility is located in the basement with exterior access. All units have baseboard hot water radiant heat with a private thermostat. Heat is included in most rents but not electricity or cable vision. Parking for each unit is available at the rear of the property. NAME ORIGIN: Wetmore House is named for a prominent Loyalist family who were forced out of the United States after the American Revolution of 1783. Since Loyalists were loyal to the British Crown, George St. is named after King George III, the monarch at the time. HISTORY: The Wetmore family is remembered for the last fatal dual held in N.B. in 1821. George Ludlow Wetmore was shot and killed by George Street over an attorney’s quarrel. Each participant and his witness met in a farmer’s field, just outside Fredericton in New Maryland, at day break. After the dual, Street escaped to the state of Maine. Wetmore was buried in the graveyard across the street from Wetmore House. This property was owned by Duncan H. Currie of new York City in 1892.