ADDRESS: 339 York St., Fredericton, N.B., E3B 3P5 LOCATION: Downtown – Only seven short blocks from the Saint John River and its network of walking and biking trails. Supermarkets, shopping, churches and restaurants, plus business and government services are nearby within walking distance, as well as municipal bus service. BUILDING TYPE: Contemporary building with balconies. NAME ORIGIN: Named by Jim Gorham after his return from working for the Bank of Montreal in Toronto where he lived near the transitional area of Yorkville. Since the apartments were built behind the original building sites, the old English term of mews was added. HISTORY: This property was redeveloped in the 1970’s by consolidating two abutting derelict properties, one on Aberdeen St. and one on York St. The two original homes were demolished and the property rezoned to accommodate a higher density. Special unique features for the period were incorporated by the builder, Joe Gorham: underground parking, tip –up concrete foundation walls, prefab concrete slab construction and sauna facilities. This property appears to be used as stables for the Fredericton Race Course on the A.M. Hubly aerial map of 1882. York St. was named so, because Prince Frederick, after whom Fredericton was named, was also Duke of York.